Rockritic

HOZIER IS MY NEW CRUSH

critic post tag

Heyaaa lil’pies!

Due to an overbooked schedual this weekend, I wasn’t able to update yesterday.. but here I am repairing my mistake by granting you a brand new post in which I’ll be talking of… HOZIER.

You may have or may have not heard about him, but Hozier is somewhat of a trending singer these days. But who is he exactly? Before going a little more in-depth with a little talk about his music really, let us learn a bit about the man behind the voice. 

Irish songwriter Hozier

Therefore, to start off, here are some facts about him :

♥ His complete name is Andrew Hozier-Byrne but he is named Hozier on the music scene. 

♥ He is from Ireland and is 24 years old. Fun fact, he is born on Saint Patrick’s day.

♥ He released his first EP in 2013 under the name Take Me To Church. His EP got viral on YouTube – even though I missed it. I’ve only discovered him a few weeks back thanks to…

♥ His debut album called Hozier, which went out internationally on October of this year.

♥ He his nominated for the Grammy awards 2015 for Song of The Year.

I don’t remember exactly how nor when I discovered that singer, but the thing is that he did not leave my mind a single time since them.

Why so? What is so wonderful about him that he escalated that quickly on the world scene, that he has gotten me, and so many people, so badly?

what about hozier

I’ll have to pin-point three important facts that made me a decisive fan.

First, I was pretty much impressed by the diversity of his genre. Surely because of his roots, we can find a bit of folk inspiration in his work but he manages to mix that with a slightly rock n’roll mood as well as a blues feeling. Three genres that work well together and in which he fits perfectly. Be it his voice, the arrangement with the classic guitar, his tone, the rhythm of the song. He blends them all together in a really interesting way that completely got me. Here under you’ll have a little peek at his singing, with a video filmed during the Barn on the Farm Sessions where he sang one of my favorite songs of him, Like Real People Do.

A second thing that got me was the subjects of his songs and the tone he gives them. If we take From Eden and listen carefully to the lyrics, it’s not as cheerful as the song’s rhythmic would have made us think. Despite it being a sad theme, he still gives a light melody to the whole, therefore not making it too much in a way where we would have rolled our eyes and thought it was so damn cliché : sad song, sad tone, let’s tear up, clap our hands and leave, right?

Babe, there’s something tragic about you
Something so magic about you
Don’t you agree?

Babe, there’s something lonesome about you
Something so wholesome about you
Get closer to me

There, you get the song, you sing slightly with him, you enjoy a peaceful and nostalgic melody but the lyrics still ring through you, and you feel them without the whole lot being too much. It’s perfectly adjusted. I really do like this way of doing. In a way, I think about Mika’s song, whose subjects are not always pretty but always sang under a rhythmic and cheerful tone that will get the song to stuck up in your head and pay attention to what is said. The same goes on here, except Hozier is definitely not the same genre and does not send the same messages.

If we look closely at the lyrics, it is quite of a love story that is told, a love story with its ups and down, a love story with its cheerful melodies and more depressed one. In an album, here Hozier, he tells a whole story. It’s wonderful. Right? Or am I the only one lovey-dovey with that album?

The third argument I’ll have to prove why Hozier is my musical crush of the moment would be his single Take Me To Church. I truly believe this song is a definitive masterpiece. I’ve discovered Hozier thanks to that precise song. I fell on it JKR remembers how, but I will remember forever how I felt after listening to it for the first time. Let’s get in the context. Earphones on, all alone in the house, writing some bit of your novel which talks about a love story between two girls separated by countries, and there you fall on this story. The first notes start, ring through your ears, and you’re immediately captivated. It was immediate. I could only but listen. And the whole arrangement, as in the guitars, the beats, the rhythm, the voice, the tones, tunes, high and lows, downs and ups, the repetition, the Amen, all of these got right through my ears, right through my mind, through my heart – and I was left dumbfounded facing this new complete artistic love. It’s very rare of me to fall in love so deeply for a song.

I can say Take Me To Church by Hozier gives me the same chills and feels as Don’t Cry by the Guns N’Roses. And that’s like the biggest compliment I could ever give a songwriter or a song (Don’t Cry is something like my musical bible, lil’pies). But. Still. That was only the musical aspect that got me. I repeated the song and, this time, listened to it while putting an extra care at hearing and understanding the lyrics perfectly and looking at the video clip. I believe I teared up a lot. Can I say it was a first? For me to tear up while listening to a song is something wild. But that song. It gots it all. The feels. The story. The lyrics. Did you hear the lyrics? Please. How can we not love that?

I was born sick,
But I love it
Command me to be well
Amen. Amen. Amen. Amen.
Take me to church
I’ll worship like a dog at the shrine of your lies
I’ll tell you my sins and you can sharpen your knife
Offer me that deathless death
Good God, let me give you my life

So. Yeah. I was writing about two girls loving each others. About two girls with one of the family hating its daughter. And there this song popped out. Telling a story of this couple, this prayer for acceptance. How could I not get feels over this?

I guess this is a pretty much personal opinion. I felt like this because of a context, because of beliefs, because of who I am – but we can’t deny that the message held by this song is beautiful, full of dolor and pain and beliefs. It’s beautiful, and I can only bow my head at something that huge.

I believe this blog issue is less a critic than a complete artistic love confession but it had to be made. I could not speak of Hozier without saying how much I’m amazed, impressed and touched by his talent, songs, rhythm and, well, voice, indeed. I can only but look upon his posterior work with a lot and loads of anticipation.

Check out on him either on his website  (he’s touring on june and july next year in the UK, that’s when I’m so jealous of you lil’pies out there) or on his twitter account and more importantly on his Youtube Channel where you’ll find some studio version or live session ♥

I hope that I was able to share a bit of my love for him to you – or that you were at least able to enjoy some great songs. If you did, leave me a comment or a tweet saying which songs are you fave, why so, how you discovered me and such! I’d gladly hear about this! If you don’t like his work, do tell me why as well – it’s always great to discuss with people of diverging opinion! And why not telling me about YOUR musical crush of the month?

Until tomorrow, with a little Christmassy post, farewell my lil’pies!

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

Leave a Reply

