reading freak

Books Wishlist of May |

literary subject

HEYAA LIL’PIES

Yas today I’m overexcited. Cause guys, in a month or so, I’ll be head in finals, and it’s going to be awful, so please pray Merlin for me to survive through this. This is why it has been a little hectic on the posting schedule these past months, I mean, I’m trying to work my life out heeere so it’s getting overwhelming and stressful but cheers! Once it’s over, I’ll be all  dedicated slash devoted to you, and I have loads and loads and loads of super great ideas and it’ll be coming rushing as soon as this final thing is over! I hope you’ll stay with me and wait for this amazing stuff to happen 🙂

Until then, I still have something to propose today and well, it’s quite cool too : IT’S MY BOOKS WISHLIST OF MAY. But why suddenly such a list? I’m going to talk a bit about my random life in the coming sentences but well, you’re kinda used to it by now as I love to tell you about me. So, here’s the plot slash context slash what happened in my mind for this post to come to life and being posted for your eyes to read.

I was in a mall last Saturday celebrating my Sister’s 13th birthday (she invited some kids for a bowling session) and while waiting for the folks to get back their kids, I ditched my parents as I was bored to hell and decided to do some errand throughout the mall when I remembered something that literally made my day. THERE IS A BORDERS IN THIS MALL. Well, I guess there are libraries pretty much everywhere but it truly lit up my mind as I came to the conclusion that I were going to go in a bookshop, look at the new books out, the old ones, look at what is trending what’s not and there I ended up making a list of books I definitely want to buy slash read this month (or the coming month if I can’t put my hands on them. I’m kinda of pocket-money-less this month. And it just started. Cheers me.) I already did a kinda recommendation list but that was for books, musics and films that I DID already read. Here, it’s only a wishlist, keep that in mind, I dunno if they’re great or not. But you can tell me about that if you do know!

So, anyway, less random babbling, more in-topics babbling!

Here are 6 books (because 6 is one less than the number 7 who’s the magic number so that’s kinda okay) I definitely NEED or am FANTASIZING of having in my bookshelf this month.

| Books Wishlist of May |

Very Good Lives,
by J. K. Rowling 
I freaked out

I have to admit it. I freaked out a tiny little bit when I saw a J. K. Rowling book on the new books out, best-sellers shelf. I was like, WHAT? A NEW BOOK IS OUT? WITHOUT ME KNOWING? Let’s say I was very very very excited and I almost ran to the shelf. But, NO, it ain’t a new book, but it’s still really great. It’s actually a written version of a speech J. K. Rowling delivered at Harvard University. I believe it shall be inspiring, touching, and I am really expecting great things from this read, if I do buy it! Here’s what Goodreads summarize about it:

In 2008, J.K. Rowling delivered a deeply affecting commencement speech at Harvard University. Now published for the first time in book form, Very Good Lives offers J.K. Rowling’s words of wisdom for anyone at a turning point in life, asking the profound and provocative questions: How can we embrace failure? And how can we use our imagination to better both ourselves and others?

Drawing from stories of her own post-graduate years, the world-famous author addresses some of life’s most important issues with acuity and emotional force.

It’s quite short, something like 80 pages, it’s a speech after all, but I believe that as I’m in a turning point moment of my life, it really is a speech that could be motivating and inspiring. That said, all I need to do now is buy it, read it and cherish it. (Did I every say the extend of my love for JKR? Ever? Well, it’s huge.)

Fangirl,
by Rainbow Rowell
I think it’s a hella cute cover

YES I still did not read that book! I really feel like ugh-ing myself as everyone’s talking about it around me and loved it and I feel so left behind. I need to grab that book, read it and enjoy it – or not, time will tell us. But, well, the cover is so cute, and the topic is oh! so appropriate for a fanfic writer such as I. So, yup, this book if definitely in my wish list this month! (Honestly though I feel like we took me to write this book, except I don’t have a sister going to college next year with me. Nor a boyfriend. Harsh.)

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.
Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…
But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?
Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?
And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

The Glam Guide,
by Fleur de Force
GIRLY PINKY GLITTERY

Over the past five years, Fleur has sought out the best beauty products, style tips and shortcuts to share. In The Glam Guide, she spills all her secrets and discoveries, from makeup tips, to wardrobe advice, to healthy lifestyle motivation, to first-date pointers.

Alright, let’s be honest, I’m not the type to buy make-up books, girly books and all of those. But I believe this one is particularly cute. I can’t help but grab it and look at the pages whenever I’m entering a bookshop, and I really like how it’s build, illustrated, organized. It looks easy to understand, follow and well, it’s always fun to learn more about a Youtuber, right? Same could go with Tanya Burr novel, by the way, that’d be a cute book to have in your bookshelf. So, yeah, Fleur de Force’s book is in my wishlist, cause let’s get girly sometimes, right? 

The Darkest Part of the Forest,
by Holly Black
I just love the typo

Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

That’s the only thing written on the back page. It freaked me out. It made me want to read the story, like real real bad. I saw more complete summaries on internet on whatnot, but I really don’t want to read them – sometimes, it’s great to go clueless and to read a book without knowing nothing at all. After all summaries are done by publishers and not by the author itself so I’m not missing something from him… and I’ll get him even more by reading all the content. Tho I don’t like when there’s no summary at all, nor quotes, nor anything to tell you a little tiny bit of what you should expect, I believe this little much is great as it stimulates your imagination and, well, it really excited me and made me want to read more… I’ll definitely have to grab it!

A history of loneliness,
by John Boyne
The cover man. The cover.

I think I was about to cry when I saw this book. I don’t know why but it pinched me in the heart and I felt attracted to it. I think the cover is lovely, it really depicts the loneliness stated in the title. Well, to be honest, the title had its effect on me too, as I clinched and immediately turned the book to read the summary. I think it’s lovely. It’s whole is completely lovely. And, honestly, only by looking at the cover and sinking into the title, I could have picked it for my books wishlist.

But then I read the summary.

Odran Yates enters Clonliffe Seminary in 1972 after his mother informs him that he has a vocation to the priesthood. He goes in full of ambition and hope, dedicated to his studies and keen to make friends.

Forty years later, Odran’s devotion has been challenged by the revelations that have shattered the Irish people’s faith in the church. He has seen friends stand trial, colleagues jailed, the lives of young parishioners destroyed and has become nervous of venturing out in public for fear of disapproving stares and insulting remarks.

But when a family tragedy opens wounds from his past, he is forced to confront the demons that have raged within a once respected institution and recognise his own complicity in their propagation.

I think it got me hard, by then. I mean. Ireland, loneliness, family wounds, demons, faith, all these mixed up together? It shall be great. It shall be haunting. And now, searching a bit for this article, that I fell on a more complete summary and on some reviews that I quickly looked at, such as on The Guardian or the Huffington Post (you can search that up if you’re the type to read reviews before buying a book), I feel even more appealed to that book and deeply feel that if I read it, it’s going to shake me up well. I really need to read it. But it seems it’s one book that marks you greatly. I don’t know if I’m mature yet to read this book. If it’ll have a positive impact or traumatize me to life, but well, we can’t know if we don’t try, can we? Are you feeling this attraction towards this book too? Please, say yes, so I don’t feel like I’m a freak!

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki,
by Haruki Murakami

Here he gives us the remarkable story of Tsukuru Tazaki, a young man haunted by a great loss; of dreams and nightmares that have unintended consequences for the world around us; and of a journey into the past that is necessary to mend the present. It is a story of love, friendship, and heartbreak for the ages.

The reason why I want this book is quite simple. I’m oh so fond of Haruki Murakami (and if you’ve never tried his books do try! It’s amazing. Weird, particular but in a great way. I love his books. Try Kafka on the Shore. It’s sublime.)  And well, you reading my love for his work right now shows a little why I’m motivated about this book, right? I know it was published quite some time ago but I could never buy it and I’ve gotta enough of seeing him in whichever book stores I’m going to and not seeing it on MY bookshelf. So, it’s definitely a must. I need to read it. I miss Murakami’s universe, style, stories and characters. I’m really looking forward this read.

So you lil’pies, here we go! 6 books in my Books Wishlist of May, you all! Not that much, considering the tons of books out every months. Do you have any? Are you feeling enthusiastic about my wants? What are yours? Do share your own books wishlist with us! 

Anyway, I’ll see you very soon, hopefully with the Reading Rec of Marpril I’ve been promising for so long haha. I haven’t forgotten about it, but I just can find time to write it down nor select which mangas I want to talk about.. I read too many! Well, until next time, don’t forget I love you loads & you can find me on Twitter, Facebook & Youtube ♥

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

Leave a Reply

