Critical Recommendations

MARPRIL FAVORITES 2.0

critic post tag

Heyaa lil’pies!

I’ve been promising this post for ages but we’ll, you know me by now, I’m kinda not tight on schedule. I’ll have to progress on that before my blog celebrates its first birthday. I think it’ll be 6 months old the 27th of May by the way. I should plane something. That’s be great. Well, we’re not there yet, so let’s get more into the subject right?

As you guys may know, I’m very much a fan of mangas, manwhas, Japanese culture, Korean’s and all. I also kinda live by phases, coming back in a circular motion. I have, for example, my fanfic phase, my TV series phase, my fantasy books phase… and also my manga phase. These past two months have been under that phase. I read dozens of mangas, either series or oneshot (I’ll make a point on technical vocab later on), and a few have been picked out as

MY MARPRIL FAVORITES

I already posted a Marpril Favorites video right there where I talked about my fav products and buys of the months of March & April (= Marpril). Here, we’re getting more literary.

It’s been hard but I finally managed to pick out 5 mangas or manwhas that I’ll talk about – though I might add some more titles for you to check out if you feel like our tastes match at the end of the article 🙂 Moreover, know that on this blog issue, I’ll only post the summaries, brief thoughts on it so you get why they’re my favs, because if I went really in depth with each of my choices it’d get very long. However, I might do a more in depth review of some of them on a side post if you’re interested.

First of all, let’s check the basis. (If you’re clean on them, feel free to skip til the first title!)

A manga is a Japanese comic book. They are usually black inked and go by chapter of around 25 to 50 pages. It’s quite a large gap but it really depends on how the manga is received by the audience, and same goes with the length of the manga. If it’s liked, it’s usually serialised and get published in volume of usually 4 to 6 chapters. I’m making generality here I’m not a professional nor an editor, this is only based on my own readings. If you’re interested in the process, an enlightening manga would be Bakuman where we follow the adventure of two mangakas. You get to know all about the creation, publication, serialization, etc. It’s quite intense.

On the other side, a manwha is a Korean comic book and are more likely coloured. Those I read usually have above 30 chapters but each of them has around two pages – the latter are however longer. It’s as if you had 3 pages following each others. I really don’t think I’m clear – if that’s the case, feel free to check out the links posted with the manwhas I’m sharing with you as it’ll explain it more practically than me.

Know that this is sorted, we shall get into the different genres you’ll come across to in my favorites of MARPRIL.

A shojo is an artwork whose audience is likely teen girls. A shonen is in contrary more aimed at teen boys. A shojo-ai would therefore be for older girls (including more mature romance, for example) when a shonen-ai is for older boys (and with thus including more violent battles, blood scenes and such).

As in literature, romance is an important part of themes used in mangas. This romance can be het, but can also be yuri – which means girls love – or yaoi – here boys love. I don’t believe I have any stated as ecchi or mature below, but in case I use that later, it’s mostly artwork that are stated not suitable for those below 16 (or even 18). To make it short : it’s erotic stuff. Mostly NSFW. But, anyway, I don’t have any in this list, I think, don’t worry. (If you’re interested in some, feel free to contact me!)

Well, it should be pretty much comprehensible now even if you’re not really knowledgeable about mangas haha, so let’s talk – finally ! – about my little selection of MARPRIL ! Oh, by the way, it’s not in any order at all, I don’t think I could do that, I love them all very much.

 

feels. feels. feels.

MARS

Kira believes that Rei and all other men in the world are dirty. She stays away from her classmates, hiding in her art. What happens when the delinquent motorcyclist and playboy, Rei, gets ahold of one of her drawings, and actually wants to keep it?

/!\ even though I said I had nothing NSFW recommended here, it seems this one is classified not for children, so please if you’re under 16 click on the title knowing what you’re going to see : be it, sex. 

This one is pure goldmine. I read it really quickly, to hypnotised by the story to let it slide away even one minute. I already read quite quickly, but when I like something, it’s almost scary how intense I can get. And I really really enjoyed this one. It talks about deep subjects, psychological issues, getting through dark moments, however the gloomy moments are balanced with more joyful or romantic ones that help you not get too much depressed.

There is one moment though that I had a bit difficulty to get through the gloomy parts and had to take a little break to think of something else as it was starting to get to my head – and that’s why I can’t give this manga a 10 out of 10, even though it can also mean that it was so great that it made me uneasy of realism. It’s not at the rank of NANA which is a masterpiece and a bloomin great manga but it’s rather quite close.

Moreover, I really loved all the part on motorbikes, which is the passion of the main guy. I don’t quite get that passion, as I’m not into cars or bikes at all, but it’s true that it was really enjoyable to see how passion is treated and how, whatever the domain is, it still has the same meaning for anyone who is passionate. To this subject was also linked the relationship with parents, the question of doing what they want and what you really love, what’s dangerous or not. It’s really deep.

I’m also quite a romantic on the side and I must say that I really loved how the romance was treated here, realistically, developing greatly, and still being cute enough for us to daydream while reading it.

All in all, I can definitely say that I deeply enjoyed this manga, and I can only recommend it to you all as I’m sure some of you will definitely like it.

However, after such a deep but still a bit cutey story I definitely had to read something that was fluffy kawai and so I read all sorts of cute shojo mangas… and one of them stood out, made me feel happy and seeing cuteness everywhere. It’s named…

PLEASE LOOK AT THIS CUTENESS

LOVE SO LIFE

Shiharu is a high-school student who loves kids, lives in an orphanage, and works at a daycare… Until the handsome uncle of two-year-old twins offers her a raise if she’ll be their babysitter. Often relying on memories of her mother’s actions for guidance, Shiharu quickly finds herself falling in love with her new makeshift family.

If you’re looking for a fluffy, cheesy, adorably awesomely cute read today, this is definitely the manga you must go for! I completely fell in love with it, became hysterical of cuteness, and oh my god. It makes one love children, get attached to them so freaking much and want to be part of their family. It makes one smile, it gives you a delicious happy and glorious mood for ages. The two twins are the cutest, the baby sitter is awesome too, and you really only want to be part of their family. After gloomy moments, reading a few chapters of this manga made me utterly happy and fluffying over their cuteness. We follow them in their every day adventure, into becoming more like a family, into liking each other – and there’s also a bit of a romance coming up, and other subplots, it’s all very lively and, let me repeat once more, sooo cute. It’s really the manga you should read if you want to feel at ease. 

The next one is a bit more particular. I don’t really read this type of manga but well, I was getting kind of bored with the typical school romance and such, so I decided to try something else… and it got me well!

I was a bit reluctant at the beginning but quickly fell in love with those two ♥

Soredemo Sekai wa Utsukushii 

Nike, the fourth princess of the Rain Dukedom and one who holds the power to call forth the rain, travels to the Sun Kingdom to marry Sun King Livius for her country, despite her own reluctance. She soon discovers that the King, who conquered the world in only three years after his ascendance to the throne, is still a child!! Furthermore, for trivial reasons, he has demanded that Nike call forth the rain…!?

When I read the summary, I was thinking Umm okay this is going to be a weird magical thing with taking care of a child or something? But it’s actually really really great. All the characters are all so well constructed, really deep and the relationships between every one of them is developed in a very realistic way. Of course it’s fluffy sometimes, because we all need cuteness in our lives, but it’s not too quick or happens all of the sudden. A lot of subplots happen before real feelings are involved, they are getting to know each others little by little, and as we grow to love them, they grow to love each others too. They all have a very difficult story, the King is a child only in age (though he’s something like 14-15 tbh) and it’s fascinating to see how one has difficulties to get past things that happened in the past. And they will try to save each others, get redemption, get to know love and life. And it’s utterly amazing. I really love the construction of all the characters, the universe created by the mangaka, I really felt blown away by this manga, despite starting it with a “bleeeh” in mind. It’s full of fun moments, emotional moments, darker moments, it really goes by all the feelings one can feel, and I just love when a read can make me feel so alive. Therefore, read it, it’s worth it!

The other two I am going to recommend are manwhas. I believe they have a very different feeling from mangas. They are actually so light, so fluid that you may think they’re less worked on, less thought, but when you read carefully, when you look at the drawings, it’s an awestruck to see how deep and precious they are. I started reading manwhas recently (remember me recommending Pink Lady in this post?) but I’m totally addicted to them. And thus, I definitely had to recommend some to you. It was really hard to go for 2 only as I wanted to limit this post to 5 recommendations, but as stated in the intro, I will leave a list of recommended title at the end of the article for your pleasure, lil’pies ♥ (and also because I can’t get myself to chose, haha)

Anyway, here we go! The first one recommended is…

they make my heart fluffy

TAMEN DE GUSHI
 
(also known as Their Story)

The funny romantic story of how Qiu Tong and Sun Jing met and fell in love.

I don’t think I’ve seen something as cute as this manwha. It really makes my heart flutter and a big wide smile appear on my face. It’s yuri but it’s really slight, nothing NSFW til now. It’s also very fun, very realistic, and most of all, really really cute. The drawings are fabulous, sometimes fun, sometimes mind blowing; the characters are so typically realistic, you might feel as if you were one of them, and I love being able to identify like this. I can’t wait for the next chapter to be published and love rereading it. I really fell in love with this one – and I hope you’ll like it too!

The next one is… well, it’s the same style as the first one, I’d say, and that might be why I liked it so much, so check it out:

uhuhuhu heart please calm down

19 DAYS

The cute and funny adventures of a boy and his best friend.

The summary don’t say much but we can’t actually say much more than this, as it’s exactly what is happening. A bit like little scenes, probably showing 19 different days, where these two boys are together – as friends, although one of them is clearly wanting more than that and trying his best to make things evolve. It’s fun to read, it’s light, it’s cheerful, it’s really the best to read when all you want is a peaceful fun moment. I always love when I see there is an update, sit in front of my computer, and take a few minutes to read the new chapter with a big smile on my face and a delighted feeling. It’s only one of those things that make your day appear much nicer than it was few minutes before reading it. So yep, take a moment of your time and go enjoy those laughable, cute, adorable chapters. Their friendship is so great to read, their memories, their journeys, it’s UGH SO GREAT…. There, I think I expressed my thoughts pretty clearly now haha.

So yep guys these are TOTALLY my favorite of MARPRIL and I you liked this long post, I’ll try and do that each month or two, summarizing up all of my greatest reads (cause Merlin knows how many manga I read per month haha).

And just because I was unable to clearly choose, here are titles you should also check out if you feel like reading even more!

Manwhas: 

Exciting Feelings – story of two girls, in the style of Their Story, but they’re grown ups, they struggle and they don’t know how to adapt to one another

Gaussian Blur – the story of a friendship of a summer, of growing up, of weird feelings 

• Ensemble  – a guy is the only witness of a crime, and has to stay with the detective, a story about family and crime 

Mangas :

The One – a story about modeling, success, love, friendship, hatred, passion – it’s really really good 

Beauty Pop – a cute story about a girl who is definitely talented into hair styling but does not feel like getting involved in the domain ends up completely into it – it’s cute, refreshing and “let me put some magic on you”. Heart warming

I think you’re good now haha! You definitely have a long list of recommended read and if you do read them, tell me about it the comments below! It’d be lovely ♥

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed those MARPRIL FAVORITES 2.0, and remember you can find me on…

FACEBOOK, TWITTER, YOUTUBE and now, all new, WE HEART IT.

Follow, like, subscribe and share the love, lil’pies ♥

Until next time,

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

2 thoughts on “MARPRIL FAVORITES 2.0

Leave a Reply

