reading freak

Book review | Paper Towns

critic post tag

Heyaaa everyone!

I actually feel like it’s quite pointless of me to review this book now that we’re the 3rd of November. However, I also feel like I would never be satisfied if I don’t actually post it, as I have been promoting that issue for SO LONG.

Yes, you do realise, right, that I’ve been wanting to write this blog post for at least three months? Let me tell you a bit of how it all worked (or, in that case, didn’t work out, in fact). First off, I had the ambition to publish it before the movie went out, then I thought well might as well publish it at the same time, it might motivate some of you to read it beforehand. Then, time passed by and I realised we were at the end of September, I hadn’t published any book critics and the movie had been out for a long while. Now, we’re in November and my delay is even worse but, eh, at least we can say that I’m promoting that book again and thus it’ll incite people who still haven’t heard of it to move themselves and go read it. Or not, if my review actually disgusted them from it. I do hope it won’t, though.

Well, anyway, it is finally here my dears! You might have guessed already which book I’m going to criticize but, if not, I’m going to give three little hints :

Margo.

Mystery.

Towns.

Well, those might not have been the BEST words to make you guess the book, but I’m sure you’ve spotted it! If not, maybe John Green will lead you a bit more?

No, still not?

Well, lil’pies, please let me introduce….

PAPER TOWNS,

By John Green

(yes, I do realise this hint thing is stupid as we have the title at the top of the issue,
but never mind)

john green paper towns

First of, what is the book about?

It’s quite difficult to summarize this book. As I’m pretty bad a this, I’m gonna try a little bit but will post a well made summary too, cause you know.

As I remember it, it’s the story of Quentin, a common guy in his last year in high school, and Margo. Margo was his childhood best friend, and he has a long unrequited crush on her, though they don’t speak much more now. She’s living in the house next door, and one night she comes knocking at his window, wanting him to drive her to some random destinations, like a small road trip. It’s silly, but he agrees because it’s Margo. However, the next day, Margo is actually nowhere to be seen – she flew away. She disappeared. And Quentin knows, really knows that something is wrong, that he needs to search for her. And that’s what he’s going to do, search for Margo, looking for hints, trying to solve the mysteries she might have left behind, or not. It’s a long task, will he manage to fulfil it? Will he find Margo?

YES I suck at putting some suspense into that summary. Though, for once, I’m quite impressed by my summary-skills. However, for those who feel like I’m a bit confused, here is an official one:

Young and shy Quentin is in for the night of his life when Margo, the most popular student in high school, recruits him to help her play mischievous pranks on the friends who betrayed her. The next day, however, the mysterious Margo is nowhere to be found. With help from a few buddies and some cryptic clues that she left behind, Quentin embarks on an obsessive mission to find the girl who stole his heart and made him feel truly alive.

A few words about the author?

john green

First of all, here is his personal website ! I think you can find some informations over there, but just for common knowledge, let’s point out that he is an american writer, born in Indianapolis, Indiana on the 24th of August 1977. He also does YouTube, with his brother Hank – they’re called the VlogBrothers and you can find his channel over there. He launched events such as VidCon, for example. He also is the writer of The Fault in Our Stars, which was mega promoted because, well, it’s a book that was turned into a movie and its the kind of duo-artworks that make you cry your eyes out. But yeah. He’s great, and he looks very friendly. I, personally, don’t watch his vlogs – do tell me if it’s as cool as it seems!

That’s great and all, but what did I think of the book?

Ah, there we go! Finally, the most important matter!

There, let me tell you: I really liked this book.

I’m not going to lie, though, it is not the most wonderful book I ever read, I don’t think I will ever re-read it in the nearest future, but I really appreciated it and was left agreeably surprised. For those of you who did read The Fault in Our Stars, and didn’t like or liked it but moderately, I must tell you that I enjoyed Paper Towns much, much more. I’m not going to review TFIOS here, that’s not the point of this issue, but let’s say that the plot is a bit common, and yes it makes you cry and want to lay in your bed sobbing for hours, and yes it’s also kind of beautiful, but I most definitely think that Paper Towns has a thing more.

I don’t really know how to explain that, to be honest. It might be because of its theme, as we’re following one guy who is desperately trying to find back the one girl who makes him feel alive, and that’s quite intense. It’s maybe also because we get to grow up with Quentin, in a way, as he is learning things about himself, about his friend Margo, about his thoughts on relationships, on life, on everything in general. It left me quite a good impression on that matter – it was a bit of a deep book, with beautiful thoughts and great writing too, but it was still not to deep for it not be too much. It made me think about things, but it also made me enjoy my reading and not be overwhelmed by thoughts, and that is what I really enjoyed about this book.

Moreover, I believe that the characters are quite interesting, each one individually but also as a whole, as a group of friends, as lovers sometimes, they have some intriguing relationships and sometimes quite simple way of behaving near one another that makes it look like it’s natural, realistic. At one point, for example, Quentin gets that into his quest his best friend needs to back out for a bit, because he’s real, he’s human you know, and you can’t get into things that deeply if you’re not directly implicated – but he ends up diving into the matter again, because it’s his friend and he needs him. I thought that was nice, and I believe John Green has a very nice ability to portray emotions, feelings that link two people together. It’s one thing I had already enjoyed in TFIOS.

And, let’s be honest here, Margo was so damn puzzling, dazzling, interesting, I had to read the book in one go, until the last word, punctuation mark, to be able to put it back on my table because I had to know more about her, about her whereabouts and all. That’s how much Margo gets into you – and yet, I’m not Quentin. I let you guess how psyched Quentin gets.

Surely there are things I didn’t like?

Yes, of course, there is one aspect that I did dislike about this book. It’s not much, not enough for me to tell you not to read it, but I feel like I should tell them nonetheless – thus, you will know about what I think are its bad points and will be prepared beforehand and won’t be deceived by that aspect.

Remember how I said that Quentin will go through a quest with hints left behind by Margo and all? Well, there is a moment in the book when I got a bit bored by that, as it was getting a big redundant, with him trying to find a specific thing he took ages to find. See how I’m trying not to spoil anything here? It’s getting a bit hard to explain what I disliked without giving too much of the plot out, but keep in mind that there might a moment during your reading when you will feel like the book is slowing down, and I know that I had to really force myself to stay into the story to continue reading and advance towards the better parts. It’s not a long moment, it’s simply that it bore me a bit and, therefore, left a negative impression on my mind.

However, the remaining of the book is still pretty much interesting and well rhythm and will be enjoyable, so don’t abandon on that tiny bit of slowness.

Another thing I feel like you should be aware of is the ENDING.. Don’t read the following lines if you prefer to have a complete SURPRISE, even though I AM NOT going to SPOIL a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g. I just happen to know that some people don’t like to know at all what to expect at the end of a book, so if you’re one of them, lift your eyes up, roll down the page and go to the conclusion.

As for the others, let me tell you what left me with a mixed feeling. I didn’t hate it neither did I love it, to be honest, but I kind of feel like there is something missing. Well, not missing, but I got a bit disappointed by how the book ended. It is an open-ending, thus it is really frustrating and I personally don’t like at all those types of ending. However, I cannot deny that it kind of goes with the story, with the personality of Margo, and even Quentin – they are a mystery, and it’s in the spirit of the book to actually end up on an open note…. but that still got me really pissed off, at the time, as all I could think about were all the endlessly imaginable possibilities of what happened next exactly. There, I needed to tell you, so you’d be aware of what to expect (and to know that you WILL be frustrated. Really.)

Well then, a conclusion maybe?

All in all, Paper Towns really is a great book! It is quite easy to read, very enjoyable as its characters and its plot are well thought of, the links between each of the teens is interesting and pretty much realistic – and I also feel that this book kind of has an atmosphere to it that makes it really, really enjoyable. However, we will have to note some downsides with a bit of a losen tempo at some point, and some facts about the ending that may disappoint some people. Thus, it is a really nice book to get into John Green’s writings, and to take an hour or two of your time to enjoy a read.

Heere we go everyone. The long awaited review on Paper Towns. I hope you liked it and that you will feel like reading the book! If you have any reading suggestions for me, feel free to comment below and tell me all about why I should read this book! 😉

Until next time,

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

3 thoughts on “Book review | Paper Towns

Leave a Reply

