aye it's my life

The Sleep Experiment

random post

Heyaaa everyone!

That blog issue is actually going to be quite a random one. I didn’t do any real sleep experiment, this is only me talking about my life and what happened this past week-end.

As you may know, I’m full into the NaNoWriMo this month, and that excitement and dedication to that challenge led me to some weird sleep patterns. Here’s a bit of how I managed:

I went to sleep at 8h30 in the morning on Saturday, woke up at 3pm, stayed awake until 11am on Sunday morning and then slept until 2am on Monday morning.

I must tell you that waking up at 2, feeling as if it were 10am, is a really strange feeling. I felt like I should go back to sleep, but as I just had some 17 hours of sleep it was really impossible, wasn’t it? I thus decided to leave my comfortable bed and went to my living room – if I were to be awake, I must at least use this time by doing something useful, right?

I thus decided to read books and critics about an author which I’m working on for an article which will be published in a webzine (I’ll talk about that later on in another issue!). I read three books, took pictures, analysed the way his life went on and the links with the novel I’m reading, and so on, and so forth. I had been procrastinating for months about reading those, and there I was awake at 2 in the morning and reading them. What was happening?

The most strange moment, though, definitely was when, at 6 in the morning, I decided to bake some muffins, as I had nothing to eat for breakfast. 25 minutes later, there I was with my muffins, eating them deliciously while finishing my books. I also had the time to read a random two-shot shojo, and procrastinate on my social networks.

I also had the time to plan the outlook of my article, and take some time to think about the plot of my novel for the NaNoWriMo.

I was not tired at all during the day (except, well, during lectures, but I guess everyone gets a bit sleepy during those, right?), and now it’s 9:34pm, I am indeed a bit sleepy, but not as much as I thought I’d be, seeing how I’m actually awake, living at my fullest since 2 this morning.

Do you realise how strange this day was for me?

Despite the fact that I actually lost all conception of time, seeing how days and nights were all messed up in my head, I actually did more today than I did in the last month, let’s be honest. I have been so active, gosh, do you realise – me, Little Gladys, Procrastination Unicorn Goddess, was ACTIVE, today, did things, finished books, wrote this article, thought about others.

It was really a weird day.

I think the NaNoWriMo is a bit getting me too hard.

I still have one question in mind. Wouldn’t that actually be the best kind of day? Actually waking up early (not like 2 am early, that’s a bit too soon), but waking up early like 7 am, and doing things out of your day instead of looking at it go pass you, waving hard.

I’m overwhelmed with doubt – how can such a day leave a mark on you, making you question your whole living style until now? Well, let us be honest here, even though it was a great experiment, I still believe I’m an owl bird kinda girl. So, yeah. I’ll keep on living by my terrible lifestyle and think back on this day like: “Wow, remember all the things you did that day? Would be nice if that happened again.”

Yep, would be nice. Will not, though. 

Well then, that’s a bit of insight in my life and the sudden realisation that struck me (you can actually do that much in a day, wow). Did that ever happen to you or am I the only weirdo out here?

Until next time,

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

Leave a Reply

