Critical Recommendations · reading freak

May Manga Favorites’

Heyaaa everyone!

First of – I’m DONE with finals!!! And believe me, that’s a huge god damn relief. Well, to be honest, I do have a remaining oral exam left, on US Civilisation, but since I finished my written finals yesterday, I’m still a bit in relief-mode to worry about that. Thus, I’ve been enjoying my free time, and whilst relaxing in front of Roland Garros, I’ve decided to write a little something for you.

As you do know, I’m a huge manga-freak, and one thing I love the most is procrastinating during finals revisions by reading some mangas… and that’s exactly what I did this semester too! Therefore, here are a few mangas that I thought were quite enjoyable and think you’d like as well! Remember, I made a few other suggestions over here and there as well! In the latter, you also have a brief recap of all the specific terms I might use in this article!

Well then, here we go \o/

WATASHITACHI NO SHIAWASE NA JIKAN

000
Our Happy Time

A woman learns a lesson about hope and faith from a man who has little of either to spare in this inspirational drama from South Korea. Yu-jeong teaches at a college, but she finds little satisfaction in her career. After falling into a deep depression and losing her belief in God, Yu-jeong attempts suicide. While Yu-jeong survives, her actions drive a wedge between her and her family, who are committed Christians and believe suicide is a mortal sin. Yu-jeong turns to her aunt, Sister Monica, for guidance; Sister Monica is a nun who does volunteer work at a prison. There Yu-jeong meets Yun-su, a convict sentenced to death who like her has come to question the existence of God. As the two get to know one another, they become friends, and as they learn to bring hope back into their lives, they find themselves reexamining their denial of faith. (Source: Mangaupdates)

This manga is quite angsty, deep and dark, but also has lots of hope in it. It resolves around the feeling of hope and forgiveness, and I think it’s a beautiful theme to talk about. The backstories of the characters are definitely sad, and you don’t want that happening to you, but it also shows the injustice in the world, the butterfly effect of some actions, some words, and, well, it’s quite marvellous.

Let’s be honest at once, this one reaaaaally moved me, left me thinking and feeling all strange. I do love mangas that are a bit psychological, realistic and that give thoughts to mind. The drawings are also quite beautiful, and I’m amazed by how many feelings were given in such a few chapters. It’s indeed quite short, 8 chapters only, but it’s full, full, full of hope. Let’s be clear, you’ll have to step back a bit to fully comprehend and realise that it is indeed full of hope as at first you’ll be left devastated. It’s quite a bitter ending, because things are happening that you hoped won’t be, and others that were not thought possible do happen. I’m not being really objective on this one, because I can’t really think of anything that I didn’t like. I can’t even say I disliked the fact that it’s short, as it completely serves the message and the manga, that’s terrible isn’t it? 😉 Well then, I do hope you’ll give it a try, and tell me if you liked it, and what you thought of the plots and the main characters!

 

ACCORD

accord manwha
Accord

A haggard cellist and an innocent psychic girl meet.

In the country of Ruth, there is a school. To the outside it is for the nobility, but secretly it trains those children who are Special to protect the country. Nei is a psychic girl imprisoned within this school, and Ian Wolf is, for several reasons, the cellist hired to play to her in a music based therapy.
When Nei shows no progress, however, the scientists in charge decide that it’s time for more drastic measures… meanwhile, Ian has problems of his own to deal with.

I feel quite bad giving you this one, as the latest scan I found in English is from 2013… but I think you can find the webcomic original website online, in Korean? Cause, let me tell you, I found myself strangely attracted to this manwha! I’m always quite fond of beautiful drawings, and coloured ones, and I think this one is exactly what I’m keen of reading. The plot is a bit different from what I usually read, but I came to love the relationship between the two main characters, the way they’re going to touch each others heart, and I’m quite intrigued by how their past may or may not be linked, and all those other questions that can pop in one’s mind when they get addicted to a story! I’ve survived to not having the end (I mean, when you survive after Nana, you can survive to anything really), but I do believe we’re left on a small cliffhanger, so brace yourselves aha. (or you can go read the original version, too.)

AKAKU SAKU KOE

Akaku Saku Koe
Akaku Saku Koe

Karashima is a high school boy with a beautiful voice. So beautiful that he can make anyone do anything, just by saying words. Cause of his potential dangerous ability, he distances himself away from people but soon finds himself in the middle of various criminal investigations that he can help solve, and a girl named Kobuku who seems in love with him – or it is only his voice?

In a whole different genre, I read this manga last weekend! I read it in one-go, but that’s a bit useless to say as I read them all in one-go, aha. However, this one is quite short but really enjoyable. The characters are lovely, the relationship that is built between them all is interesting, and the plot is not bad as well. I found the fact that he has a “special voice” really original, and how he uses to help the police was also a good idea, that helps develop lot of aspects as to why help someone, why be in the police force, but also has a deep reflexion on the power of words. And as a writer, I found that really, really beautiful. Of course, the romance story is also lovely, hehe. I love a story where one learns to trust someone!

 

There we go, three lovely suggestions for you to read! Do give me your feedback, I’d love hearing your opinions on those!

I’ve been starting to read for the ABC challenge recently too, so we might definitely get a book review in the coming weeks! Do also wait for a review of an anime and a Japanese drama, if I don’t forget to write them aha.

Well, until then,

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

2 thoughts on “May Manga Favorites’

Leave a Reply

