Critical Recommendations · Filmcritic

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children | Movie Review

Hey everyone!

Well, let’s be honest, I almost forgot to do today’s blog post! I’ve been writing all day long (cause yes, I ended up doing the nanowrimo, bless my soul, and have a quick prayer for my fingers that are spasming on the keyboard), and thus it completely slipped off my mind that I had to write a little something for you guys, which is why I’m a bit late. Well then, what’s today’s blog post all about, you ask?

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, 

the movie by Tim Burton, based on the books by Ransom Riggs

miss peregrine tim burton

First of all, here’s the plot for you all, copied from imDb : When Jacob discovers clues to a mystery that stretches across time, he finds Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. But the danger deepens after he gets to know the residents and learns about their special powers.

Now then, on to my critic of the movie:

First, I gotta say that I haven’t read the books, yet. I can’t wait to read them as the movie gave me a tremendous need to do it, but this critic is solely based on the film that I saw and in no way a comparison of the two.

I’m not going to be vague about it: I absolutely loved it. I didn’t have real expectations towards it, as I had only seen one of the trailers and, sure, it made me want to see it but it didn’t make me go over the edge for it. Well, one thing is absolutely certain: it’s been a long while since I’ve been that thrilled when leaving the theatre after a fantasy young adult movie. 

I loved absolutely everything about it. The characters are lovely, truly attaching, you love each bit of story you get from any of them, and it makes you want to know more, more, more. I loved the concept of the story, the fact that one can “stop time” and create a “loop”, I loved the story of the Home for Peculiar Children, I loved the story of Jake’s grandfather, Abe, I loved the story of each children of the House, I loved the fact that they were peculiars.

I don’t think I got bored a single moment, during that movie, but that may be because it’s been a couple of weeks that I’ve been and my enthusiasm has won over what I didn’t like, to be honest – but if my overall feeling is that I really did enjoy myself, then the parts that were lacking weren’t lacking that much, if you get what I mean?

I think that the only things that might be a little deceiving is the final “battle” between the two clans, as it’s a little too caustic, or too fast? There are a whole lot of events taking places, disturbing the whole, it takes an hour and half long, and then the whole thing was done and finished in such a little time I almost felt like it wasn’t really over, you know? As if something else was going to happen… but no. However, I wouldn’t go as far as to say that I didn’t like what happened, the events in themselves were really good, but maybe the speed of the actions compared to the rest of the movie, who’s rather much slower, was a little disturbing at first.

I don’t know if they announced any other movie, any continuation of that one, because what I really liked about this one is that, for once, it stands as a wholeContrarily to what has been popular the past decade for this genre, this movie is a sole movie, has a plot working on its own in a prescripted time-frame and that’s great. When leaving the theatre, you don’t feel cheated by, you don’t feel like there’s a whole lot you’re missing out and you’ll have to wait a year or more to have the ending. (Ever said I hate last movies of a trilogy in a two-films format? Well then, oops, I said it).

As for the actors, I believe they were all marvellous choices for their roles. Eva Green as Miss Peregrine is wonderful, really wonderful, and heart wrenching. Ella Purnell does an absolutely ravishing Emma, and I loved seeing Asa Butterfly in another movie. I saw Hugo in the theatre the year it went out, and really liked his impersonation, but here I had the thought that he really grew up and he convinced me even more with his character in this one. It’s a lovely feeling to have, seeing an actor grow up!

The thing that I loved about this movie is that it made me act like a child again, all jumpy, all excited for my characters, craving to know more about them, and it really has been ages since a fantasy/young-adult movie ever kept me like that. I  felt like I was ten, twelve again, and discovered all my favorite movies or books of that time, such as Ink Heart (which I definitely definitely recommend reading and watching if you haven’t.)

With thus, we can say that I’m not exactly neutral when I speak of this movie, but anyway, art has never been a question of neutrality and neither is art appreciation. I do hope I made you feel like you wanted to watch this movie – and if you do, give me your opinion of it! (even more if you’ve read the books, I really wonder if it is a great adaptation or not!)

Well then, that’s all for today,

I’ll see you tomorrow,

Loads of lil’kisses from a

signature

Leave a Reply

